Home > Guest, Interviews, Tamara Taylor > Wetpaint Interview Tamara Taylor

Wetpaint Interview Tamara Taylor


Wetpaint Exlusive! Tamara Taylor Decide’s Who’s Hotter: David Boreanaz or Nathan Fillion

By Ian Spiegelman

Tamara Taylor

Photo Credit: Kevin Winter/Getty Images for Fox

Photo: Tamara Taylor rocks an updo and large hoop earrings for FOX’s 2008 All-Star Party.

Can Bones get any more gruesome and still make us laugh our heads off? According to the show’s Tamara Taylor (Dr. Camille Saroyan), it sure will! In an exclusive Wetpaint interview, Tamara gives us the gory details, compares David Boreanaz (Booth) to her former Serenity co-star Nathan Fillion, and drops some heavy hints about the upcoming Bones spin-off, The Finder.

Tamara Taylor, David Boreanaz and Emily Deschanel in BonesWetpaint: What’s your favorite aspect of working on Bones?

Tamara Taylor: The laughter. The fact that we’re all cracking up all the time is probably one of my favorite things about this job. It’s kind of cool to like the people you work with.

How has the show changed over the seasons?

The relationships have gotten deeper. I think we’ve all been through a lot more together and those stories are more interesting to the writers — there’s a lot more for the writers to work with. And if it’s possible, it’s gotten gorier. We just did one about left feet washing up on-shore.

You what?

Do you remember the story about the left feet washing up on the Canadian shore? Was it the left feet or the right feet? [Four right, one left.] Well, we just did one loosely based on that real-life horror, so we’re getting gnarly.

Who has better chemistry: David Boreanaz and Emily Deschanel (Brennan) or TJ Thyne (Hodgins) and Michaela Conlin (Angela)?

Oh… Oh, that’s a tough one! I think that they all have really good chemistry. I’d say now that Hodgins and Angela have gotten together the heat is a little less lust and a little more love. With Brennan and Booth, because it’s still sort of unrequited it’s a little more intense.

Do you think they’ll ever make it official?

Oh, I don’t know. Can they? They let the audience sort of get a taste of what it might look like in the Season 4 finale, but I don’t know. I know that everyone’s hoping they will. It will be interesting to see, but the writers don’t let us in on that.

Do you have any idea what we can expect for Cam in Season 6?

None whatsoever. [Bones creator] Hart Hanson has a brilliant way of letting the characters unfold for us. Every now and then he’ll say, “Hey! I’m gonna give you daughter. What do you think about that?” [Laughs] But that’s about the extent of it, so I don’t know what’s in store for Cam.

So then you wouldn’t happen to know if the gynecologist is “The One” for Cam?

I don’t know if he’s The One — I wasn’t sure if he was going to come back. I knew that they liked the episode that we did together, and I know that often the writers will sort of wait to see how the audience will respond to somebody. Everybody really loved Elon Gold, who is just awesome, and he came back! I don’t know how often he’ll be back but he was back a lot more than I expected, which was really fun.

Who’s hotter: David Boreanaz or Nathan Fillion (Castle)?

That’s another tough one. I would have to say D. — just like on a purely primal, female gut level. But I love Nathan Fillion. I think he’s hot in his own right.

The cast of Bones

Who’s funnier?

How… See, how do I answer that exactly? What if I say Nathan Fillion and D. reads this? I’m not going to be in for a good day. I think they’re both funny. Actually, my favorite part of this role for David is that he gets to be goofy. And I don’t think anyone ever saw Angel being goofy. We didn’t get to see this side of him in Buffy.

Speaking of Buffy, are you looking forward to Joss Whedon’s The Avengers?

I am so excited. If anybody can do it well, it’s Joss. Because he’s the quintessential comic book geek.

Can you tease anything about the Bones spin-off, The Finder?

I can! I actually just met one of the stars, Geoff Stults. Great, great pilot. I think everybody is going to love it. I mean, again you’ve got classic Hart Hanson. You know, grim subject matter with a hint of comedy and lightness. And Saffron Burrows is just amazing — and Michael Clark Duncan. They’ve got an awesome cast and a great script. I can’t imagine it’s going to be anything less than great. The interesting thing is there is some tension between Booth and The Finder. His name is Walter on the show.

Oh? What kind of tension?

I think they used to work together, and… You’ll see. Geoff Stults is a little cocky. He’s really good at what he does, and he’s a little cocky about it. So there’s a little bit of tension throughout the episode that I think is kind of funny.

What do you do for fun?

Lots of things. Hike with husband and my dog. I love to go to movies, of course. Every actor’s favorite pastime is going to movies and plays. And books — books, books, and more books. I love reading.

In what ways are you similar to Cam?

Well, though I’d rather not admit it, I think I’m a little bossy or have a little bit of know-it-all-itis. [Laughs] That part of me can relate to Cam. I don’t know if the similarities stop there. Cam is kind of… She seems to appreciate the team. I don’t want to say it’s a motherly energy but she definitely cares about what’s going on with everybody and I think that I probably share that quality. I don’t know if I’m quite as snarky as Cam — I don’t think so. I wish I was as witty as Cam, because she definitely has some good one-liners. But in real life I don’t have Hart Hanson to write them for me. And, honestly, I’m a lot goofier than Cam. Cam’s straight-laced and kind of stern. I get a kick out of the fact that I get to play someone like that because mostly I’m the goof that trips over her own feet and laughs too much.

What’s your favorite episode of Bones?

I don’t know about this season because I usually wait until the end of season and then sit in a darkened room by myself and watch them back-to-back. So I haven’t actually caught up on last season’s episodes. The Norwegian death metal episode is one of my favorite ones, where Sweets [John Francis Daley] dresses up as one of the death metal guys in order to go into this creepy club. I think all of the Grave Digger [Deirdre Lovejoy] episodes have been pretty intense. I loved it when when TJ and Emily were buried alive. And when the Grave Digger comes back and gets stuck in the submarine. The Grave Digger on trial was an awesome episode. She’s terrifying. She’s such an amazing actress because she’s so lovely and so funny between takes, but when they yelled “Action” — bone chilling!

Who’s your favorite squintern?

I like them all for different reasons. Carla [Gallo] [Daisy Wick] is annoyingly hilarious. Vincent Nigel Murray [Ryan Cartwright] is so quick and so subtle with his crazy British humor and his funny hand gestures. I think Clark [Eugene Byrd] is just ridiculously hilarious — he does the straight man so well. And of course Joel [Moore] [Colin Fisher] just throws himself into his character brilliantly; they give him crazy stuff to do and he always pulls it off. And the actor who plays Wendell [Bray], Michael Grant Terry, is pure goodness. He just shines through that character.

Lightning round:

Oh, this may not end well, but I’ll do it.

David Boreanaz: Funny.
Emily Deschanel: Loving.
TJ Thyne: Angel.
Michaela Conlin: Hilarious
John Francis Daley: Gonna rule the world.
Carla Gallo: Brilliant.
Hart Hanson: The best.
Stephen Nathan: Talented.
Nathan Fillion: How does Nathan Fillion keep on landing in these questions! I love him! Five million things are flooding through the door at once. First word that comes to mind… I’m not good at this. I’m not good at this! Okay: Charming

Source: Wetpaint

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

